Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile

InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Hotel Reviews for InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
94%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.7

based on 2366 reviews
94%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

2366reviews

  • 5 Stars
    1866
  • 4 Stars
    313
  • 3 Stars
    97
  • 2 Stars
    52
  • 1 Stars
    38

COVID-19 Good

By

11 July 2020

club

The social distancing protocols were good and our room felt clean

Read More
Read Less

Cost

By

11 July 2020

Cost to value was not good. You are paying for a destination but most places are shut down. Considering lack of travelers, you should discount the prices.

Read More
Read Less

They do not recognize IHG "Platinum Elite" members

By

11 July 2020

platinumelite

Was not granted extended checkout, the restaurant/bar was closed due to everything going on, received no compensation, kind of ridiculous considering nightly rates remain the same price despite everything being closed, and this hotel is not cheap. They do not recognize IHG "Platinum Elite" members even though they are an affiliate, received 0 perks, when I brought this to their attention they told me to purchase a SEPARATE "ambassador program". Would have been nice to have known this before my stay.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent accomadations and a fabulous staff

By

10 July 2020

We stayed here for a quick break from the valley heat not knowing what we were in for. The whole experience was fabulous

Read More
Read Less

Great View

By

09 July 2020

We decided to splurge on an Ocean Front room with balcony and fireplace. The room and VIEW did not disappoint. I wouldn't want to stay in any other type of room. The room was clean and comfortable.

Read More
Read Less

Great location, comfy rooms, helpful staff

By

09 July 2020

This hotel has a very good location and it was nice to stand out on a balcony and watch the crowds and the bay. The rooms were a good size and the bathrooms were definitely larger than most hotel rooms. Staff was helpful and friendly!

Read More
Read Less

Gone downhill

By

09 July 2020

platinumelite

We have stayed at this hotel a total of 6 times in two years. All have been wonderful stays except this last stay.
Upon check-in we were told we could leave our car to take our bags upstairs (valet not currently available due to COVID). We removed our bags and my husband was getting on the car to leave while I stayed with the bags. A gentleman appeared and told us we must move. Keep in mind there was other cars & no one else checking in behind us. Meaning all those guest went up to their rooms with their luggage.
We are ambassadors and did not receive our room upgrade or even given a reason why at check-in.
The room had a musty odor. Figured it had not been used as we had visited a month before and they mentioned letting rooms sit between visits.
The bathroom was not fully clean. Fingerprints on the handheld mirror and sink had hair in it. The bed had gray fizzy on the sheets. We slept between the sheets and comforter. The bed had a huge hump in the center.
Requested extra pillows but never received them.

We did not interact with the staff during the visit other than notifying them about the pillows and the room issues. For which nothing was cleared up.

Upon checkout the person called someone over to look at our account. Everything seemed ok. I made a purchase from the gift shop and we checked out.
My husband noticed an odd charge. I called and was told we had a smoking fee. I was shocked! We are not smokers. She said two people checked and it had a heavy odor. I told her that’s impossible, this has to be a mistake. She kept putting me on hold but never had me talk to someone else.
While telling me she was refunding the charge she was also saying she believes her co-worker and that we smoked in the room.
Each time I tired to explain that if we were not smokers and surely they would have noticed in one of the 5 previous visits, she acted very condescending and her replies were rather rude dispute her trying to sound nice. I told her clearly a mistake has been made but she insisted we had smoked in the room and no way they made a mistake.
It’s extremely disappointing that the hotel has staff which would treat a guest in such a way. Especially guest who have a history of stays and are IHG Ambassadors.

We have a stay coming up in December but considering canceling. They didn’t notify us of the charge and the staff was basically calling me a dishonest person.

Read More
Read Less

Just a room

By

08 July 2020

club

Wish I could have had ther option of room service, no menu or book offered it. TV menu didn't have it either. Valet was gone early as well, we didn't know where to park and had to park on the street. Doing tgood made us wake up early and move it before 9am so we didn't get a ticket.

Read More
Read Less

Visit during Covid time

By

08 July 2020

platinumelite

In general we love the property. During the tough time we did not have the luxury of room cleaning (we said it was ok not to do that but missed it in any case). No Restaurant, bar, bell service or valet. All of these services were missed. we did pay top dollar for the room and i feel that should have been reduced due to the limited additional/typical services.
We did book an additional room for a for a who joined us. There was no upgrade for our original room. We were given 10k points instead for the original room. We were initially told we would get an additional 10k points for the second room so we did not ask for an upgrade which was available for this room. Upon checkout we were told we would not going to get the additional 10k points. I said i would have asked for the upgrade if i had known we would not get the 10k points. The person (who was the same person from the previous day who booked the room) basically said she knew we wanted the room right away so she did not go through the options. Unfortunately she was incorrect. We did not need the room right away as we ere leaving for a drive down Big Sur but rather she had assumed that. I'm not mad, just disappointed. I did feel that the person was a bit distracted and did not make us feel like a valued guest by taking the time to make sure she was assessing our concerns/ desires. I tell you this because i run a company and i would want to know.
We did need additional pillows and also some help with the TV and those were taken care of quickly and knowledgeably.

Read More
Read Less

Family Gettaway

By

07 July 2020

Hotel felt very friendly and open as can be during Covid-19 going on. The family stayed in 2 rooms and we had no complaints. Very comfortable king beds, separate showers and tub in our rooms. No ocean views from our room but had a good view of Cannery row.
The hotel restaurant was closed do to Covid. Not a complaint because plenty of food within walking distance. But, would come back again to stay longer and hopefully eat at the restaurant.

Read More
Read Less

Nice hotel

By

07 July 2020

club

Beautiful building and right on the water with many dining options within a few minutes walk.

Read More
Read Less

Excellent place and excellent service

By

07 July 2020

club

Our trip was great. Loved the location and loved the ocean view (though partial) from our room window/balcony. Absolutely 5 star experience.

Read More
Read Less